A Beautiful Walk

DSCN1887DSCN1888

1 Peter 3:3-4 (NIV) Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes. Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight. 

DSCN1890

Isaiah 64:8 (ESV) But now, O Lord, you are our Father; we are the clay, and you are our potter; we are all the work of your hand.

DSCN1893

Philippians 4:8 (NIV) Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.

DSCN1897

 

I walked a labyrinth in a beautiful garden last week that whispered these snippets of a Navajo prayer. I had never been on a labyrinth before, but I took the tiny stone journey to de-stress during a long day of travel. I needed moment of peace. As I stepped, I said small prayers to God in thanks for the beauty that He has placed in the world and in my life. Above, I’ve juxtaposed Bible verses that came to mind.

As I stepped on the words “beauty above me,” I looked up at magnificent, tall trees that cast shade over the garden. As I read “beauty below me,” I looked down at green grass and fallen leaves. For “with beauty all around me,” I thought about the beauty in my own life — my son, my husband, the gifts God has given, the struggles that Jesus can still use in a beautiful way.

The interesting thing about the labyrinth is that sometimes I thought I knew where it was going, but then it would turn differently than I expected. I could trust it because I knew eventually I would get to a middle; that’s how a labyrinth works. For me, it’s impossible to walk on something like this and not take it as a metaphor for life. As a Christian, it made me think about trust. Sometimes it’s so hard to trust. Sometimes the path seems very unclear. On a labyrinth it’s easy because we can see the path. Yet, this is something God asks of us — to trust, even when we cannot see what’s ahead. 

 

I beauty may I walk . . .

and may you walk in beauty too.

 

 

 

Thank you again for reading.

(Yes, that is my foot in the last photo.)

 

With beauty, blessings, and peace,

Teresa

    

3 thoughts on “A Beautiful Walk

  1. I can relate so deeply to your beautiful post. I love the metaphor to “trust” in our lives. I am in that place right now where God has got me in some serious “school” and I don’t know what is ahead. Your post gave me peace just reading it and seeing your lovely pictures. Keep writing. It is inspiring! Visiting from right behind you at Holley’s. Blessings

  2. Pingback: Goodbye, 2015! Hello, 2016. | Mama Muse Me

Leave a Reply

