My Top Ten Favorite Books

There’s a little challenge that has been floating around Facebook, asking people to pick their top ten favorite or influential books that they’ve read. I decided to share my list with you. Maybe you’ll think about your top ten too or pick out one of the books on my list to encourage you, especially if you’re an avid reader like me. I usually read a book or two each month, and on the more busy months, I use a free library app to listen to an audio book. So, here’s my top ten list of influential books.

  1. Anne of Green Gables: I loved how creative Anne’s mind was. Green Gables was the perfect place in my mind when I was young. In the series, Anne became a writer and a teacher, which were both my goals in life, and she had a great romance. I want to visit Prince Edward Island someday.
  2. Pursue the Intentional Life by Jean Fleming: This book had a great influence on my spiritual life. Even though it’s written from the perspective of an older woman, I found so much wisdom in it.
  3. Walden by Henry David Thoreau: Thoreau challenged the conventions of his day and valued the basics in life. He also wrote beautifully. Larry and I were engaged at Thoreau’s cabin site in Massachusetts.
  4. Mere Christianity by CS Lewis: This book helped me think about Christianity on a deeper level.
  5. Jane Austen novels: I love the romance and manners (but I’m glad women have more mobility in the world today). I also love how Jane Austen was always looking at people’s motives in such a humorous way.
  6. Gifted Hands by Ben Carson: His life story was always an inspiration for me. I read this all the way back in 8th grade, but I still think about his journey in life. He came from poverty, but his mom’s determination to make him an avid reader (even though she was illiterate) eventually put him on the path of becoming a great children’s neurosurgeon.
  7. Little House on the Prairie series: I liked to imagine that I was Laura.
  8. Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series: I liked this series because the characters were not one-dimensional. I felt like I knew all four of the girls. I could see them as role models, and I like Ann Brashare’s writing style.
  9. Julie & Julia: 365 Days, 542 Recipes, 1 Tiny Kitchen Apartment by Julia Powell: This lady cooked all the way through Julia Child’s cookbooks and blogged about it. What a neat idea. I like how Julia Child’s life is woven into the story. This book is so good (Unfortunately, Julie Powell’s second book is crude, at least for my taste. All of the romance and positive outlook of her first book is gone there. I don’t recommend her second book!).
  10. Inside of a Dog: What Dogs See, Smell, and Know by cognitive scientist Alexandra Horowitz: This book helped me understand my own dogs better and how they perceive the world. I’m a dog person, so this book fascinated me.

Besides this list, I am also working on reading through the Bible. As I finish a book of the Bible, I write down the name of the book and the date in the front of my Bible. As someone who grew up in church and became a Christian at a young age, I’ve realized that reading through the Bible should be a priority.

Even though the top ten list didn’t include blogs, I feel like there are a few blogs that have become influential in my life too. I read the incourage blog, Modern Mrs. Darcy, and www.holleygerth.com each week. I also listen to Tsh Oxenreider’s Art of Simple Podcast while I’m cooking. Since these blogs are so current and “with me” each week, they are very influential.

This beautiful weather has been leading me to slack a little in the blogging department, but I’ve been making some great memories with my son. Maybe you can relate to that too 🙂

Anyway, what are your favorite books, blogs, or podcasts?

Hope you are having a fabulous week, my friend.

Love,

Teresa C.

I’m linking up with Holley today.

4 thoughts on “My Top Ten Favorite Books

  1. I so enjoyed reading your list of encouraging books. I LOVED loved Pursue the Intentional Life when I read it this summer! Visiting from Coffee for Your Heart & I think this is my first time here 🙂

    • Yes, it was hard to pick ten! When I posted on FB, I said I probably could have picked 50 🙂 I would like to hear what’s on your list. Thank you for your faithful visits to my blog and your great comments. I appreciate you, Sarah.

Leave a Reply

