Curvy Gal Inspirations

I love Melissa McCarthy’s style in Mike & Molly.

Adele always looks amazing.

Beautiful!

I am the mom of a toddler, so I do not always go out into the world looking fantastic (wink, wink, let’s be real) — but I do get excited about beautiful clothes and the creativity of designers. When I saw the UK-based Slink magazine at my local bookstore recently, I gladly slapped down the $10 because I knew the articles and photos would be nourishing and inspiring. Seeing women with your body type being celebrated really does matter.

Anyway, one part of the magazine that I really love is the style profile of everyday women. The Q&A format made me think: how would I answer? So, I’m answering a few here in my own little space of the blogosphere 🙂

Where are your favorite places to shop? Maurice’s (www.maurices.com), eShakti (www.eShakti.com), Target

Do you have a style icon/ who? I love the polished look of Duchess of Cambridge Kate Middleton, along with the creative quirkiness and retro choices of Zooey Deschanel. For curvy, I’m a big fan of Melissa McCarthy’s conservative, yet pretty look on Mike and Molly that includes beautiful colors and patterns, and I think the singer Adele looks spectacular all the time.

What’s your biggest fashion faux par? It takes me awhile to come around to certain trends, even the good ones, because I am stubborn and want to make sure I’m not wasting my money. I’m more classic than fashion-forward, but if something immediately strikes me as beautiful, I will buy it.

What’s your biggest fashion memory? My first fashion memory is being allowed to dress myself at a young age and constantly mixing crazy prints and colors because I didn’t know any better. I asked my mom how she had the courage to let me dress that way, and she said, “It’s what you wanted to wear!”

Most expensive buy & was it worth it? My wedding dress. I won’t say how much! Yes, it was worth it.

Do you pay attention to fashion shows and seasons trends or write your own rules? I pay some attention, but I prefer to use a small amount of trends along with classic pieces that I know look great. I watch Project Runway obsessively because I love seeing the creativity behind the designs! I would love to see more plus size designers on the show.

Describe your style in five words. Classic. Creative accents. Beautiful colors.

If you were to give us one piece of fashion advice, what would it be? Be comfortable, but still classy.

Hope you are having a great week!

Teresa C.

2 thoughts on “Curvy Gal Inspirations

  1. I loved reading this interview type format. That is just too cute what your mom said when you asked her why she allowed you to dress the way you did. Thank you for linking this up to “Bloggers Who Have Inspired Me” today, it is always nice meeting new fashion bloggers who are mommies to toddlers as well.
    Rachel xo
    Garay Treasures

    • Thank you 🙂 I was pretty excited because Slink Magazine linked to this post on their Facebook page this week. Rachel, I’m glad I found your site. I think we have a lot in common!

Leave a Reply

