Fashion Inspired by Melissa McCarthy in Spy

spy-movie-review

Melissa McCarthy literally kicks butt in her new movie, Spy. My husband and I cracked up in the theater, and we both thought the comedic timing was perfect. I think this might be the first time — correct me if I’m wrong — that a curvy woman has been the star of this type of action comedy. As always, Melissa’s husband makes a little appearance in the movie, which I think is just adorable.

Anyway, if you’ve read this blog for even a short time, you probably know Melissa McCarthy is one of my inspirations. Driving home from the movie, I started thinking . . . hmm, how about a fashion post inspired by Spy? Here’s the formula I came up with: trench coat + classic dress underneath + heels. What do you think?

DSCN2506

My husband liked this look a lot and even said there’s something sexy about it. Thanks, hubby! Take note of that ladies. You could turn some heads in this look. I added a Betsy Johnson watch because I felt like a spy would have a watch with some type of stealthy capabilities, and I also wore a vintage Chanel button that I’ve attached to a necklace for some mystery.

The really neat thing about the trench and the dress is that they’ve both been in my closet for a decade. Classic pieces like these are always in style, and they last a long time if you take care of them. The trench coat still looks brand new.

Before I say goodbye, it wouldn’t be a Melissa McCarthy-inspired post if there weren’t a little silliness involved. In Spy, Melissa wears a lot of different wigs and disguises, so here is me in a blonde wig about eight years ago. I was on vacation in New Orleans, and a friend dared me to wear the wig out for the evening. I was always up for a dare back then (whew, how things change when you settle down). I think it’s a cross between Dolly Parton and Marilyn Monroe, leaning more toward Dolly, haha.

I hope this post made you smile.

Have a great day, sweet reader.

xoxo Teresa

Linking up with Rachel from Garay Treasures.

8 thoughts on “Fashion Inspired by Melissa McCarthy in Spy

  1. Pingback: My Arm Charms Tribute & Bloggers Who Have Inspired Me link up | Garay Treasures

  2. Pingback: Goodbye, 2015! Hello, 2016. | Mama Muse Me

Leave a Reply

