Meet Stacy, All-Natural Skincare Extraordinaire

Today I’m featuring Stacy from Cherished By Stacy, a business that offers completely natural, no preservatives, skincare that smells absolutely divine. When she says cherished, Stacy is not exaggerating. Her skincare products feel indulgent, but the prices are very affordable. As a Christian, Stacy strives to offer her very best products, share God’s love, and grow her business with integrity.

My favorite product that she mailed me is called Heaven Sent, a body butter and a scrub. The formulas are all-natural ingredients like coconut oil, vanilla, almond oil, and vitamin E. Stacy has the scent and the texture just right, and it’s awesome to know that these products are nourishing for your body.

IMG_0082

Today, I’m posting a Q&A with Stacy to give you an inside peek at what it’s like to start a skincare line. First, though, I’m going to tell you the story of how we met. The story says a lot about Stacy and her beautiful heart. After you read, please show her some love by visiting her Etsy site! Also, stay tuned for a potential giveaway.

How I Met Stacy

Stacy and I met earlier this year at a women’s faith retreat in rural Pennsylvania. I was doing something that, as a shy person, was pretty terrifying — attending by myself. I originally did not plan to go by myself, but plans fell through; yet, I needed a chance to be refreshed and to just get away for a weekend. It seemed like the other women at the conference center were very calm, collected, and at peace, even those who did not know anyone. I wondered, how did I ever think going on a retreat where I don’t know anyone would be refreshing? I sat in a rocking chair on the huge wooden porch of the retreat center, looking out at the mountains, feeling so grateful for the free time without diaper changes and obligations, yet also feeling uneasy. Well, that retreat is where I met Stacy. She made me feel noticed and cared about, which meant a lot. We had meals together, talked, and prayed together. I was so, so thankful for her. Even as I went way outside of my comfort zone, I felt like she really cared, and that touched me.

After we left the retreat, Stacy and I continued to stay in touch. We exchange prayer requests regularly. Anyway, one day I felt a nudge to feature Stacy’s natural skincare business on my blog. I asked Stacy if she would like that. She told me that she had started the business on Etsy earlier this year, but then she felt like God was telling her to go on a social media fast (a.k.a. — no social media!). How could she promote her business if she couldn’t use social media? Well, I’m hoping this blog post will be one way she can promote her business *wink*. If you feel led to do so, please share Stacy’s business on your social media.

Without further ado, here is my Q&A with Stacy.

013What made you decide to open Cherished by Stacy? Before opening Cherished by Stacy, I made all natural sugar scrubs for myself. I loved them so much that I shared my scrubs as gifts with family, friends, and coworkers. Everyone loved the products just as much as I did, and they encouraged me to start a business. I chose the name Cherished by Stacy because the purpose is to show women that they are loved and cherished by God.

What process did you go through to start? I was hesitant to open my page at first – I have never run a business before and I wasn’t sure if I could do it. I continued to share free product samples with friends to get feedback and see if it was really something that I could do, and do well. I sold a few sugar scrubs here and there. This past Christmas I helped a friend make gifts for her family, which led to making body butter as well. It took me about a year, but with continued encouragement from friends and family, I officially stepped out in faith and launched my Etsy shop in February of this year!

What are you looking forward to the most, and what scares you the most about it? I look forward to creating and introducing new products and expanding my Etsy page. I have so much to learn, and I am excited about how I can use Cherished by Stacy to bless others. I want to make sure that I steward my business well and honor God with the work of my hands. I want to be mindful to listen to where He wants to take Cherished by Stacy, and how He wants to use it. I also want to encourage other women to step out in faith and walk towards the dreams God has put in their hearts.

How did you get started in making all natural sugar scrubs? My interest in making all natural skincare products actually started five years ago, after I went natural with my hair in July 2010. I became more conscientious about the types of products that I use on my hair and on my skin. I am sensitive to strong perfume smells, so some products just don’t work for me. One day I decided to do my own “at-home spa” experience, so I made my own hair products, face masks, and body scrub free of perfumes and chemicals – and I loved every minute! That’s all it took! I am excited that I pursued my dream of owning my own business in my 33rd year of life. I can’t wait to watch it grow!

Why did you choose to focus on body/skincare products? Anyone who knows me well knows that I am such a girly-girl, as my friends would call me! I just love pamper products – facials, body scrubs, body butters, etc. that just make my skin feel great. Let’s face it ladies: going to the spa and even great store bought products are not always in the budget, so I decided to have some fun and make my own.

How is your business going so far? The past five months have been a great experience for growth. I am learning about what works and brainstorming how to improve my marketing/design. Things in my day-to-day life were pretty busy this spring and early summer, so I only operated my business on a limited basis, to include the Mother’s Day holiday sale. I am excited to launch some new products in Fall 2015!

What has been your greatest success? Opening my store was a huge accomplishment in and of itself. Trusting God through the entire process has been amazing. I love hearing how much people love the product, men and women. I am also excited that I expanded my store to include body butters and lip balm. I love the ideas that God has given me, and I can’t wait for others to try them too.

What makes your product stand out? My products are all natural, perfume-free, and handmade.

What is your biggest dream? My biggest dream is to be a good steward of the gifts and talents that God has given me to bless others around me. God has given me a heart to serve women who need encouragement, and I want them to know that they are loved, cherished, and seen by God. The shop may change based on where I feel God is leading me to go with the business, but the mission to serve and encourage others will always remain the same. I mostly want to encourage others to pursue their dreams.

What’s your favorite product you have created? My personal favorite product is the Heaven Sent Sugar Scrub – this is my go to scrub, hands down! The smell isn’t overpowering, and the salt and sugar combo make it the perfect exfoliator!

Which skincare lines have influenced you? The products made by Lush are nice and definitely inspired me to make my own products.

If you would like to place an order or have any questions, please visit Cherished by Stacy at www.etsty.com/Shop/CherishedbyStacy or email her at stacynjeffries@gmail.com. Blessings!

5 thoughts on “Meet Stacy, All-Natural Skincare Extraordinaire

  1. fabulous!! I love this interview. I’m really drawn to god and believing he will guide me at the minute. I use to when I was younger and lost my way in my 20’s. its people like you that makes me realise we can all do what we dream of doing with a bit of faith and belief nothing can stop us. xx

    • Hi, Becca. Thanks for commenting. 🙂 I’m glad to hear that you feel like God is calling you back to Himself. Stacy and I have Christian faith, so we believe in the gospel of Jesus. I accepted Christ into my life when I was about ten years old, and I also had a time of rebellion and questioning around my early 20’s, but God brought me back to Himself too. I think some of the best ways to hear from God are through prayer and reading the Bible. As you pray and read the Bible (after you have accepted Christ and invited Him into your life), I think God begins to direct you toward the plans and way of life that He has for you. Stacy is really powerful in her prayers. When I prayed with her, she said things that I knew were full of truth and things that I had already been hearing from God too (so she confirmed what God was telling me about some things). Let God direct your dreams. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Natural Skincare Giveaway! | Mama Muse Me

Leave a Reply

