My First Art Show

Three of my tiny mixed media collages are part of the Engine Room Art Space’s current exhibition in Hagerstown, Maryland, that is open now through January 10. Here’s a photo of me holding my son at the opening reception on Friday evening.

DSCN3516

I love the other art works that the gallery coordinator chose to hang my art near. The pastel I’m standing in front of here is by an artist named Benjamin Ross, and I think the colors and movement in it are great. My husband also has a pastel called “Architectural Strength” in the exhibit.

DSCN3504

I’ve had an appreciation for art ever since I took art classes in high school with an excellent teacher. Taking art classes was probably the best decision I made back then because it influenced the way I look at the world. It’s been over a decade since then, but the birth of my son a few years ago sparked my creativity. I couldn’t put all of my feelings into words, even though writing has been my main form of expression in the past, but I felt a sense of flow with making the collages. I used paint, scrapbook paper, fabric, and found objects. My husband has a degree in art, so I ask him for an honest critique after each piece I make.

If you live near Hagerstown, Maryland, I hope you will stop by 36 North Potomac Street to see the exhibit.

Gallery Hours
Thursday – Friday
11:00AM – 07:00PM
Saturday
11:00AM – 07:00PM
Sunday
11:00AM – 05:00PM

Another art exhibit that I’m loving right now and that I recommend is the Kay WalkingStick exhibit at the National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C., on the walking mall. It is edgy and has an interesting point of view from a female artist. It’s not too far from the Hirshhorn, which has some neat modern art too.

Kay Walkingstick

Kay WalkingStick

 

Merry Christmas, fellow bloggers and readers!

xoxo Teresa  

Linking up with http://www.garaytreasures.com

7 thoughts on “My First Art Show

  1. Wow your artwork is beautiful! I haven’t done art in several years and it was my favorite course(s) in high school as well. My favorite mediums were acrylic paints and mixed media. Congrats on getting your three collages featured.
    Thank you for linking up to “Bloggers Who Have Inspired Me”
    Rachel xo
    http://garaytreasures.com

  2. Pingback: Goodbye, 2015! Hello, 2016. | Mama Muse Me

  3. Pingback: 8 of my favorite outfits of 2015 & link up is back – Garay Treasures

Leave a Reply

