The Presence of God

 

James 4:8 (ESV)

Draw near to God, and he will draw near to you . . .

As I worked through the Bible Journaling Challenge last month, I felt like this verse was so true for me. I was drawing near to God by spending time in his word each day, and I was feeling His presence in a deeper way than I had felt it in a long time. I was in awe of what God was doing to strengthen my faith and what He was communicating to me.

One of the places I feel close to God is the ocean because it is so easy to see His beauty and power displayed there. The constancy of the waves reminds me of His character. My watercolor entry in my Journaling Bible represents how I feel God’s presence at the sea.

He is with us all along, but drawing near, we become more aware. He is at work even when we are not aware, but it is so reassuring to sense His presence and see Him work in ways that you know are from Him.

I think about how my son draws near to me for attention and love each day. He makes it impossible to do anything else but notice, hug, and love him.

Yes, draw near.

 

Teresa

 

Leave a Reply

