Easter Bible Journaling

DSCN3972DSCN3971DSCN3968DSCN3970DSCN3973DSCN3966DSCN3975

Easter is coming up on Sunday, so I want to share some of my Easter-inspired Bible journaling with you. I read Mark 14-16 and then did this colored pencil sketch of Christ praying in the Garden of Gethsemane. At Gethsemane, Christ asked his closest friends to keep watch while he prayed because he knew that the time of his crucifixion was drawing closer, but his friends kept falling asleep. When I look back at some of the hard times in my life, I can remember some people “falling asleep” on me too. Yet, Christ forgave his followers and didn’t give up on them. That’s hard to do, but that’s the example Christ sets for us. It’s so much easier to put up a wall after you’ve been hurt; that’s what I have done in the past, but seeing Christ’s example, I want to do better in the future.

I also made a page for communion using this tutorial. I link to this blogger’s pages pretty often, but I’m learning a lot from her posts! I love to take communion; the symbolism is beautiful. By partaking in the bread and wine (or grape juice, in the case of many churches), I am remembering and celebrating the Lord’s sacrifice and what he did on the cross to bring new birth and eternal life. Communion is also a time to reflect and to surrender any burdens to Christ.

One other part of these journaling pages that you might have noticed is the sunshine that has “I’m a Child of the King” written on it. That was my grandmother’s favorite hymn, and she died a few weeks ago. She was a woman of great faith and very active in her community. The color red, lipstick kisses, curlers, lilac bushes, and country cooking remind me of her. She had dementia for about the last decade of her life, so the photos and remembrances at her funeral brough back so many memories of the grandma that I remembered when I was young, the one who was such a strong role model for all of her grandchildren. I thought I would end this post by sharing the words of grandma’s favorite hymn with you.

I’m a Child of the King

by Harriet E. Buell

My Father is rich in houses and lands,
He holdeth the wealth of the world in His hands!
Of rubies and diamonds, of silver and gold,
His coffers are full, He has riches untold.

I’m a child of the King,
A child of the King:
With Jesus my Savior,
I’m a child of the King.

My Father’s own Son, the Savior of men,
Once wandered on earth as the poorest of them;
But now He is pleading our pardon on high,
That we may be His when He comes by and by.

I’m a child of the King,
A child of the King:
With Jesus my Savior,
I’m a child of the King.

I once was an outcast stranger on earth,
A sinner by choice, an alien by birth,
But I’ve been adopted, my name’s written down,
An heir to a mansion, a robe and a crown.

I’m a child of the King,
A child of the King:
With Jesus my Savior,
I’m a child of the King.

A tent or a cottage, why should I care?
They’re building a palace for me over there;
Though exiled from home, yet still may I sing:
All glory to God, I’m a child of the King.

xoxo Teresa

4 thoughts on “Easter Bible Journaling

  1. Lovely hymn 🙂 I am sorry about your loss. I’ve contemplated that passage so many times. It’s easy to read and question “how could they fall asleep?” But how many times have I slept through what I’ve been called to do, figuratively and literally! Your pictures are great! You have talent!

Leave a Reply

