The Bookshelf Reviews

shadows-good-and-simple-2-1-708x1024

The latest addition to my bookshelf is Good + Simple cookbook. The Hemsley sisters have written a cookbook that is filled with nutritious recipes that are really delicious. My favorite so far is the Slow-Cooked “No Fry” Chicken Curry on page 197 that makes the kitchen smell amazing as it cooks. It tastes divine. Truly. The book also piqued my interest because it has a bone broth recipe that I want to try. I’ve been hearing that bone broth has incredible health benefits. I want to take advantage of all the veggie recipes for summer, and I definitely want to try the Zucchini and Cannellini Bean Lasagne and the Reinvented Noodle Pot recipes that are a riff on ramen noodles. This book is very on-trend, but the ingredients are practical, and the recipes are not intimidating. The only incongruity I noticed was that several recipes included bacon — in a cookbook that is otherwise focused on healthy recipes. That seemed like a quirky decision. Otherwise, I was really impressed by the recipes, the beautiful photos, and the inviting tone of the entire book. Blogging for Books sent me this cookbook in return for my honest review. I am very pleased with the recipes that I’ve already tried in the book. This one is a keeper.

Also on our bookshelf: Adventure Bible Wild About the Bible Sticker and Activity Book. I am in the process of potty training my son, so one of the ways that I encourage him to sit on the potty and use it is by saying, “Mommy will get the sticker book.” It has been working so far. My son is a little younger than the age range the book is intended for, but he loves the reusable stickers. Some of the pages have outlines that show children where to put the stickers, and he really likes to put stickers on those pages. He says, “Jesus” when he puts the Jesus stickers on the book, which is really cute. Heroes and adventures include Creation, Noah, Moses, Esther, and the parable of the Lost Son. The illustrations are beautiful, and we’ve had lots of fun. Book Look Bloggers sent me this book in return for my honest review. I am pleased with the quality of the glossy pages and the stickers, and above all, my son has looked forward to using the sticker book together each morning.

240_360_book-1899-cover

 

What’s on your bookshelf?

Teresa

Leave a Reply

