Slice of Life

summer_azure_ottawa

WENT: We’ve gone on lots of little day trips — the Baltimore Aquarium, The National Zoo in D.C., a lazy river water park, Day out with Thomas the Tank Engine, and a quick day trip to the beach. I love little summer road trips. We aren’t going to do a big vacation this year, but we are still packing in a lot of fun.

COOKED: I chopped up red peppers from the farmer’s market and roasted them, and then I added cooked corn, roasted cherry tomatoes (halved), a smidge of olive oil, and some salt, pepper, and paprika. It made a yummy lunch.

I also made a concoction in my crock pot using pantry items that I thought came out pretty good. I used two cans of cannellini beans, two cans of chopped tomatoes, some chicken thighs, a generous sprinkle of dried rosemary and dried onion, and enough chicken stock to just cover everything. I cooked it on high for four hours (you might need to adjust this for your crock pot and take the meat temperature), and then I put out blue cheese to sprinkle on top. You could use goat cheese if you like something more mild, or omit the cheese altogether. It came out really delicious. Most people would probably want to serve this over mashed potatoes or rice, but I wanted to go more low-carb.

READ:

  • Write Like This by Kelly Gallagher — This book was recommended to me by an English teacher, and I thought it was full of great advice for teaching about writing.
  • None Like Him: Ten Ways God is Different from Us (and Why that is a Good Thing) by Jen Wilkin — I thought this book was intelligently written, and it looks at God in a way that inspires awe and honor. It has a lot of spiritual depth, but it is also a relatable book.
  • Llama Llama Red Pajama — I read this to my son at Barnes and Noble and thought it was just adorable.
  • My Mother’s Quilts by Ramona Richards (review)
  • A Fine Imitation by Amber Brock (review)

SURPRISED BY: Little “coincidences” that were meaningful this month — in other words, God moments.

LISTENED TO: Lake Street Dive in concert. Also found a neat record shop in Virginia Beach that sold an old Linda Ronstadt album that I adore. Linda Ronstadt is one of my favorite singers to listen to on old records, second only to John Denver, whose voice soothes me like no other – and followed closely by Elvis, just because he is the Big E.

ADVENTURES: Went to the Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) at Virginia Beach during our day trip. They’re doing a Hi-Fructose exhibition right now, and if you like art that stretches your imagination, makes a social commentary (and feels a little out-there), you should check it out. I was really impressed.

Wittfooth_M-Incantation

One of the artworks in the MOCA exhibit: Martin Wittfooth, Incantation, Oil on Canvas, 2014.

I’m also planning on hiking a section of the Appalachian Trail with a friend if the weather cooperates with us soon. It has been raining a lot again.

WISHED: Summer would last several more months (lol).

BOUGHT: A Fitbit and the faux gold Nate Berkus stapler from Target that for some reason kept beckoning me in a way that seemed almost silly but absolutely necessary.

FELT: Wistful. This is going to be my last chance to spend time with my son before I go back into the work force. I’m feeling nostalgic and thankful for the freedom of the past several years at home with him. Being a full time mom takes sacrifice, but there is also a huge amount of freedom in deciding how the day will go and in taking cues from my son to make the day the best it can be. Life is going to become a lot more structured now, but I think it’s going to be a new adventure too. It will be a sacrifice to not witness every moment of my son’s days – seeing every milestone is something I treasure – but at the same time, I will need to trust that God will be where I cannot physically be and that the people I’ve entrusted with caring for him during the day will do a wonderful job. I am so thankful that, after earning my master’s degree in May, a job already opened for me.

Happy July!

xoxo Teresa

 

Linking up with What I’m Into at Leigh Kramer.

5 thoughts on “Slice of Life

  1. We love the Llama, Llama books in our house too. I appreciate that they actually teach the little ones something they can use. And my kids are big into llamas, since we pass one when I am driving into work.

  2. Don’t you just love the little coincidences that pop up in our lives.But we know, there is no such thing as a real coincidence, everything happens for a reason. I have a little book called “God Winks” that tell of these moments.

  3. I’m still deciding on my next read. Last one was: Smart women finish rich. Left me with good tips to implement immediately. A huge fan of fiction and Judy Blume and have not found a similar writer. I like the “What I’m into” session. Thanks for stopping by! I’m also on Instagram: @yventure, twitter:@yventureblog, and Facebook page is http://www.facebook.com/Yvonnee

    • I got to see Judy Blume speak at the National Book Festival in D.C. several years ago. I haven’t read her novel about flying yet, but I have read a lot of her other books.

Leave a Reply

