Staying Fully Present

DSCN4213DSCN4214DSCN4215

The verses for today’s Bible journaling entry inspired awe in me. The complete verses are at the bottom of this post if you would like to start your day with them as well. Something I have been considering and that God has been continually bringing to my attention this summer is the idea of how He is the only one who can be in more than one place at one time. I cannot expect perfection of myself because humans were created with limitations. To honor God, it is best to be fully present wherever you are placed at the moment, do your best, and trust God to handle the rest. I typed out some thoughts about that on my computer and used Mod Podge to glue the page into my journaling Bible. This is what I wrote:

Only God can be more than one place at one time — omnipresent. In honor to Him, I can be fully present where I am physically placed. I don’t need to be two places at once; I literally cannot be. I can bring my thoughts back to my present spot when I feel like I am not accomplishing enough, giving enough, or not as “in control” of a situation as I would like to be. I cannot be rested, recharging, nurturing others, and accomplishing a big to do list all at once, all the time. God created humans with this limitation, so I can trust that it is for my own good. I can be reassured that GOD IS EVERYWHERE I cannot be, and I can put the unknown into his hands.

These thoughts came to me after I read the book None Like Him: 10 Ways God is Different from Us (and Why That’s a Good Thing) by Jen Wilkin earlier this summer.

DSCN4216

Now, here are the verses that inspired me. Particularly, Psalm 139:7 reminds me God’s presence is everywhere.

Psalm 136:1 Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good,for his steadfast love endures forever.

Psalm 139:1-18 O Lord, you have searched me and known me!
2 You know when I sit down and when I rise up;
you discern my thoughts from afar.
3 You search out my path and my lying down
and are acquainted with all my ways.
4 Even before a word is on my tongue,
behold, O Lord, you know it altogether.
5 You hem me in, behind and before,
and lay your hand upon me.
6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;
it is high; I cannot attain it.
7 Where shall I go from your Spirit?
Or where shall I flee from your presence?
8 If I ascend to heaven, you are there!
If I make my bed in Sheol, you are there!
9 If I take the wings of the morning
and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea,
10 even there your hand shall lead me,
and your right hand shall hold me.
11 If I say, “Surely the darkness shall cover me,
and the light about me be night,”
12 even the darkness is not dark to you;
the night is bright as the day,
for darkness is as light with you.
13 For you formed my inward parts;
you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.
Wonderful are your works;
my soul knows it very well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you,
when I was being made in secret,
intricately woven in the depths of the earth.
16 Your eyes saw my unformed substance;
in your book were written, every one of them,
the days that were formed for me,
when as yet there was none of them.
17 How precious to me are your thoughts, O God!
How vast is the sum of them!
18 If I would count them, they are more than the sand.
I awake, and I am still with you.

Have a great week!

Teresa

Leave a Reply

