Wonderfully Made

DSCN4218DSCN4219DSCN4220
DSCN4221

Psalm 139:14 I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well.

In Jen Wilkin’s book None Like Him — which I highly recommend — she writes that the verses in Psalm 139 go far beyond body image. They are about the awe of God’s power and presence in general. Yet, as I read, I cannot help but see the verse in both aspects: a reminder that God created me wonderfully, and a reminder of God’s wonder that goes so far beyond me and my physical self.

On this Bible journaling page, I celebrated the idea of being wonderfully made. I used crayons to write out “wonderfully made” and then watercolored over the page. On the opposite side, I glued a photo of a time that I took on the physical challenge of walking 6 1/2 miles on the Appalachian Trail with a friend earlier this summer. It took us hours because it was very rocky. There were times when I had to slide down boulders because I am short. Other times, we could barely perceive the trail because everything around us was so rocky. The part we hiked was considered “moderate,” but it felt like a huge accomplishment. I don’t think I would do it again because it was not entirely pleasant, and I was just glad to not bust my face, haha. Yet, it was wonderful to be in nature, take on the challenge, and spend time with my friend. I felt like I was looking down most of the time to keep from tripping on rocks, so sometimes I had to pause just to look around and take in the beauty that was around us.

One step at a time . . .

Teresa

6 thoughts on “Wonderfully Made

  1. Teresa, I love it! I have a journaling Bible but I have not drawn or colored in it at all; just notes. I need to open that door LOL. CONGRATS on hiking the trail – what a major accomplishment!

Leave a Reply

