Book Reviews

Welcome to my first set of book reviews for 2017.

image9

A book that I purchased and read within a matter of hours this month was Talking as Fast as I Can by Lauren Graham. As a Gilmore Girls extreme fan, this was a must-have for my bookshelf. I got the free trial of Netflix on Black Friday just to watch Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life. The Netflix shows left me wanting more. Now I need to know who the father of Rory’s baby is (Logan, most likely) and what’s next for her. Like other bloggers, I was bothered by how “stuck” Rory and Lorelai seemed, but I was so, so pleased with the story lines for Jess and Emily. Seeing Emily in jeans and a t-shirt was enough reason to watch. The Stars Hollow Musical was weird, but I didn’t hate it (lol); Sutton Foster and Christian Borle were fun choices for it. As for the book, it was awesome to realize that Lauren Graham has such an incredible sense of humor. I also read her novel, Someday, Someday, Maybe, awhile back and thought it was a fun read too. One part of her new book that stuck with me and bothered me was how much sexism Lauren Graham recalled encountering when she wrote her first novel (people asked her who helped her with it, as though she could not have really written it herself, even though she studied English). She was asked a lot of questions that a man probably would not have been asked. Grrr. If you are a Gilmore Girls fan, I guarantee you will laugh out loud when you read her new book.

 

Blogging for Books sent me an uncorrected proof of Liz Curtis Higgs’ upcoming book, The Women of Easter, in return for my honest review. I had just finished reading her book, The Women of Christmas, during the holiday season — something I have done for the past three years. That book has illuminated the Christmas season for me each time I have read it, so I was excited to have a book that I could read during the Easter holidays now too. The only Christian book that I anticipated this much last year was Sarah Young’s Jesus Always devotional. Higgs writes about the roles that the three Marys — Mary of Bethany, Mary of Nazareth, and Mary Magdalene — played in the biblical events of Easter. Mary of Bethany anointed Jesus’s feet with perfume, symbolically preparing him for burial. His mother stood by as he was crucified, and Mary Magdalene showed her devotion to her teacher and savior as well.Even though Easter probably isn’t on your radar just yet this year, I recommend this well-researched book for that season.

1842de2149b2cf8e113627bb45481027

 

Book Look Bloggers sent me God Made You Nose to Toes in return for my honest review. I love the cheerful illustrations and the message about God creating different body parts, from head to toe. The rhyme pattern adds to the charm of the book. The entire book is both high-quality and adorable at the same time. Plus, the book looks really cute setting on my son’s dresser.

9780310757320_p0_v1_s192x300

P.S. Did you see my post yesterday?

xoxo Teresa

 

6 thoughts on “Book Reviews

  1. Love seeing all these books you’re reviewing! I have a novel coming out in September–wonder if you’d be interested? It’s Christian women’s fiction.
    Also–you might enjoy Andy Lee’s A Mary Like Me, also about the significant women named Mary in scripture. Blessings!

    • The Gilmore Girls is a must-see! I loved it because Rory was so bookish and placed such a priority on her education in the original series. In the reboot, that side of Rory was kind of lost because she was floundering between jobs.

Leave a Reply

